19.4.18

#CoverReveal: RUTHLESS MAGIC by Megan Crewe




Today Megan Crewe and Rockstar Book Tours are revealing the cover and an exclusive content for RUTHLESS MAGIC, her new YA Fantasy which releases May 30, 2018! Check out the awesome cover and enter the giveaway!

On to the reveal! 


Title: RUTHLESS MAGIC
Author: Megan Crewe
Pub. Date: May 30, 2018
Publisher: Megan Crewe
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: ?
Find it: Goodreads, Pre-Order  

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die... or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages' Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents' low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The start of a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

16.4.18

#BlogTour: REYET TRAP by Dee Garretson // #GuestPost + #Giveaway

Hello and welcome to my blog tour post for

REYET TRAP by Dee Garretson!

I have a guest post for you today about the book plus you can enter the giveaway below! But first, let's learn more about the book...


REYET TRAP

Author: Dee Garretson
Series: Torch World #2
Publisher: Month9Books
Publication Date: April 3, 2018

Summary:
No planet. No hope. 

Quinn Neen and his friends have survived the uprising and the ruthless Fosaanian leader’s attempt to kill them, but the galaxy is still hurtling toward war. With just a few days before Quinn starts his mandatory military training, he plans to spend the time with Mira, the Fosaanian girl he’s in love with. When a mysterious message forces them on a journey to an isolated planet named Reyet, Quinn’s plans quickly change.

A coup on Reyet throws everything into chaos, leaving Quinn and Mira evading enemies they know, and some they don’t, including the planet itself. Now, time is running out for Earth, Fosaan, and Reyet, and there may be no place left in the galaxy that’s safe.
Purchase:

This series started with...

STATION FOSSAN

Author: Dee Garretson
Series: Torch World #1
Publisher: Month9Books
Publication Date: February 14, 2017

Summary:
Earth scientists and their families stationed on the remote planet of Fosaan were promised a tropical vacation-like experience. But Fosaan, devastated from an apocalyptic event nearly three-hundred years ago, is full of lethal predators and dangerous terrain. 

Earthers are forbidden to go beyond the safety zone of their settlement and must not engage the small population of reclusive Fosaanians, descendants of the survivors. Sixteen-year-old Quinn Neen plans to do both of those things.

When Quinn discovers a beautiful Fosaanian girl named Mira stealing food from his family’s living unit, he soon learns Earth’s government may not be telling the whole truth about Fosaan and the cause of the past disaster. 

There are some who to restore the planet to its former glory by any means necessary. Quinn finds himself caught between his loyalty to his own people and what is right for Mira and her people. 

Before he can decide what to do, the scientists are taken captive, stranding the young Earthers on Fosaan. 

Quinn must go from renegade to leader and convince Mira to become an ally in a fight against an enemy whose very existence threatens their lives and the future of those both on Fosaan and at home.
Purchase:

Why You Love Your Cover

I love looking at book covers and I have to admit it’s hard for me NOT to judge a book by its cover. Authors anxiously await the first view of their covers, worrying the cover artist won’t capture the right feel for the book. I was therefore ecstatic when I saw my covers. They are perfect for the stories.

13.4.18

#BlogTour: THE RULES OF REBELLION by Amity Hope // #Review + #Giveaway

Hello and welcome to my blog tour post for

THE RULES OF REBELLION by Amity Hope!

Today I have a review of the book for you and there is a giveaway as well! But first, let's learn more about the book...


THE RULES OF REBELLION

Author: Amity Hope
Series: The Rules of Persuasion
Publisher: Entangled: Crush
Publication Date: April 2, 2018
Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary:
1. Skinny dip (her idea)
2. Stargaze (his idea)
3. Prank someone (her idea)
4. Go on a date (his idea)

Leo Zimmerman has had a crush on his curvy friend Kylie Jenkins since forever, so when he discovers the girl with a flair for candy making has a newfound plan to rebel against her overbearing parents, he’s determined to be the one to help her carry it out. Who better than himself to show her the ropes of letting loose?

Sure, taking her to her first high school party, helping her sneak out of the house, or watching a sunset together isn’t exactly a hardship, but much harder is masking his feelings the more time they spend together. And when he suggests adding “a first date” to Kylie’s plan and she accepts…suddenly all his dreams seem to be coming true.


But Leo’s got a secret that could change everything between them, and it’s only a matter of time before it comes to the surface.
Purchase:
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and chose to review it. This in no way impacts my opinion.

I so enjoyed this book. The plot, the romance, the pacing. Everything about it was just wonderful to me. I liked seeing how everything evolved and I was angry (in a good way) and how the main conflict played out. If you want a good contemporary romance novel with a bit of angst, this is the book for you.



11.4.18

Event Recap: #FrenzyPresents + #Giveaway

On Sunday, April 8th, I was lucky enough to be invited to the HarperCollins Canada office for the

Spring 2018 Frenzy Presents!

I went to Toronto for the day and got to spend a few hours surrounded by friends and book people, which is always a good mix! The swag bags we were given were AMAZING and I received an ARC of THE DIMINISHED by Kaitlyn Sage Patterson in my bag, which I already had a copy of (and loved!), so I am giving it away below with some other goodies as well so be sure to check it out!

Below are the books we learned about, so let's get to it!


PAST TENSE

Author: Star Spider
Series: N/A
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Summary:
How do you live after death?

Julie Nolan is a pretty average girl with pretty average problems. She’s been in love with her best friend, Lorelei, ever since they met in grade three. Only Lorelei doesn’t know about it — she’s too busy trying to set Julie up with Henry, her ex, who Julie finds, in a word, vapid.

But life gets more complicated when Julie comes home to find her mother insisting that her heart is gone. Pretty soon it becomes clear: Julie’s mom believes that she has died.

How is Julie supposed to navigate her first year of high school now, while she’s making midnight trips to the graveyard to cover her mother with dirt, lay flowers and make up eulogies? And why is Henry the only person Julie feels comfortable turning to? If she wants to get through this, Julie’s going to have to find the strength she never knew she had, and to learn how to listen to both her mom’s heart and her own. 
Purchase:


What we learned...

I already had a copy of PAST TENSE, which I've read and LOVED. It has such an amazing story of love, loss, and learning how to be yourself when everything around you seems to be falling apart. With a good LGBTQ+ romance - and a Toronto setting - there is nothing not to love about PAST TENSE! 

THE FATES DIVIDE

Author: Veronica Roth
Series: Carve the Mark #2
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Summary:
In the second book of the Carve the Mark duology, globally bestselling Divergent author Veronica Roth reveals how Cyra and Akos fulfill their fates. The Fates Divide is a richly imagined tale of hope and resilience told in four stunning perspectives.

Fate brought them together. Now it will divide them.

The lives of Cyra Noavek and Akos Kereseth are ruled by their fates, spoken by the oracles at their births. The fates, once determined, are inescapable.

Akos is in love with Cyra, in spite of his fate: He will die in service to Cyra’s family. And when Cyra’s father, Lazmet Noavek—a soulless tyrant, thought to be dead—reclaims the Shotet throne, Akos believes his end is closer than ever.

As Lazmet ignites a barbaric war, Cyra and Akos are desperate to stop him at any cost. For Cyra, that could mean taking the life of the man who may—or may not—be her father. For Akos, it could mean giving his own. In a stunning twist, the two will discover how fate defines their lives in ways most unexpected.
Purchase:


What we learned...

The sequel to CARVE THE MARK, the Frenzy team was really excited for the next book to be released!

THE DIMINISHED

Author: Kaitlyn Sage Patterson
Series: Untitled Duology #1
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Summary:
In the Alskad Empire, nearly all are born with a twin, two halves to form one whole…yet some face the world alone. 

The singleborn 

A rare few are singleborn in each generation, and therefore given the right to rule by the gods and goddesses. Bo Trousillion is one of these few, born into the royal line and destined to rule. Though he has been chosen to succeed his great-aunt, Queen Runa, as the leader of the Alskad Empire, Bo has never felt equal to the grand future before him. 

The diminished 

When one twin dies, the other usually follows, unable to face the world without their other half. Those who survive are considered diminished, doomed to succumb to the violent grief that inevitably destroys everyone whose twin has died. Such is the fate of Vi Abernathy, whose twin sister died in infancy. Raised by the anchorites of the temple after her family cast her off, Vi has spent her whole life scheming for a way to escape and live out what's left of her life in peace. 

As their sixteenth birthdays approach, Bo and Vi face very different futures—one a life of luxury as the heir to the throne, the other years of backbreaking work as a temple servant. But a long-held secret and the fate of the empire are destined to bring them together in a way they never could have imagined.
Purchase:


What we learned...

This was another one I already had a copy of (and loved!) but it follows two characters in a new fantasy world where most people are born with a twin, but those without are expected to rule. With twists and turns that you'll never see coming - THE DIMINISHED will wow every YA fantasy fan. This one came out YESTERDAY but you can win an ARC below!