27 Aug 2021

Science Fiction and Fantasy Fridays: 5 Science Fiction and Fantasy Bookstores To Visit

Science Fiction and Fantasy Fridays introduces readers who are unfamiliar with the Adult SF/F genre to books, authors, and discussions all about the vast expanse of the world of Adult SF/F!
Today's post is a little different - we have a discussion for you! I wanted to highlight and feature some book stores that specialize and curate Science Fiction and Fantasy books only and are independent to boot. I tried to get one in a few different countries so that if you are one of my (many) international readers, you could visit or support them as well.

Without further ado...

20th Century Books

20th Century Books is a popular culture bookstore and bookseller
formed in 1979 in Madison Wisconsin by Hank Luttrell, specializing in new, used and rare science fiction, fantasy, comics, mysteries and all sorts of related popular culture topics. They sell books and related items mail order through various web based platforms including their Amazon store, Ebay store, and Biblio.com store.

If you are planning on visiting the Madison, Wisconsin area you can visit their "real" store at 1421 South Park.

They are open Monday-Saturday from 10 until 5:30, and Sunday noon until 5:30. Take a look at their South Central Wisconsin Bookstore Directory for ideas about other book browsing opportunities in the area. And please feel free to email them any time!

Visit 20th Century Books

1421 S. Park Street, Suite 200
Madison, WI 53715
Phone: 608-441-1957
Email: hank.luttrell@gmail.com

Borderlands Books

Borderlands Books only sell Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery and
Horror. They would love to sell all kinds of books but they only have so much room. If they sold all kinds of books they could only be a good bookstore. By limiting ourselves they can be a great bookstore. And, if they do their job right, perhaps they can be your bookstore.

Their mission is to create a retail and mail order business that provides a comprehensive selection of good quality and reasonably priced books and other items of interest for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery and Horror Fiction.

If you're not in the San Fran area, you can buy books online or audiobooks through Libro.fm to support them!

Visit Borderlands Books

866 Valencia Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone: 415-824-8203
Email: info@borderlands-books.com

Bakka-Phoenix Books

Bakka Books first opened its doors in 1972 on Toronto's Queen West
strip, stocking genre fiction, comics, and nerd stuff of all types. The name, Bakka, was taken from Frank Herbert’s Dune, and means ‘the weeper who mourns for all mankind’.

The comics side of the business split into renowned Toronto comics store The Silver Snail in 1976, and in the nearly 50 years since, the store has changed owners, locations, and even its name (slightly); they've hosted the cast of Star Wars, George R.R. Martin, and countless local authors and been a reliable day job and community hangout space for Toronto genre authors, including Leah Bobet, Cory Doctorow, Ed Greenwood, Nalo Hopkinson, Tanya Huff, Fiona Patton, Michelle Sagara West, Robert J. Sawyer, Karina Sumner-Smith, and Tara Tallan. (And Pierce Brown - I was there!)

What hasn’t changed: their knowledge of, commitment to, and sheer darned enjoyment of science fiction and fantasy.

They host tons of author appearances, readings, panels, and offsite events of all kinds. They’re Canada’s oldest science fiction and fantasy bookstore, and they’re proud to be part of the greater community.

You can support them by purchasing online, in store, or audiobooks through Libro.fm!

Visit Bakka-Phoenix Books

84 Harbord Street
Toronto, ON M5S1G5
Phone: 416-963-9993
Email: inquiries@bakkaphoenixbooks.com

Cold Tonnage Books

Cold Tonnage Books are specialists in new and out-of-print,
collectible science fiction, fantasy, horror and the supernatural first editions: hardcovers, vintage paperbacks, pulps, magazines and much more.

They publish monthly (sometimes twice-monthly) lists of new and forthcoming books and recent acquisitions: these can be sent as printed catalogues by post (and still are to many customers) but are also posted here on the website each month (you can be notified by email the instant each one goes up). 

Visit Cold Tonnage Books

Poundwater, Farway, Colyton, Devon EX24 6EG
Phone: +44 (0)1404 871001
Email: andy@coldtonnage.com

Durdles Books

Durdles Books is an online bookshop that specialises in Science Fiction, Fantasy, Modern Firsts, and US Comics.

They are constantly busy sourcing new stock, and always try to obtain books in great condition that they would like have in our own collections. Being collectors themselves, they appreciate that there is nothing quite like finding a "lovely" copy of a book that is on "the list".... so they generally only buy books of the highest order. They do not have anything that is in non-collectable condition unless it is very special.

Visit Durdles Books

51 Cole Bank Road, Hall Green, Birmingham, West Midlands, B28 8EZ, United Kingdom
Phone: (0121) 777 0209
Email: info@durdlesbooks.com


What are some of your favourite indie bookstores?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting! I cherish each and every comment. If you leave me a link to your blog, I will do my best to comment back!