27.6.18

#Review: Poetry Collection Round-up!

I've been reading a lot of poetry books this year so far - one of my reading goals was to read a bunch because I like poetry but never seem to include it in my reading schedule - so I thought I would round up all the poetry collections I've read and give you a brief review of each! Out of the 51 books I've read so far this year, 17 have been poetry collections. So I'm going to do this in a couple ways - longer reviews to highlight the collections I really liked and really disliked and then just covers with links to my Goodreads review for the ones that were somewhere in between.

LOST: A COLLECTION OF POETRY AND PROSE

Author: Cristina Filomena
Series: N/A
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: February 8, 2018
Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary:

To those who have loved, to those who have lost. 

We all grieve in our own way; there is no right or wrong. 


Everything I have written about in these pages is from my past. 


These people, these ideas, have shaped who I am, and despite most of them leaving holes in my heart, I am stronger because of them. 


This is my before, my denial, my faith, my acceptance, and it is not balanced; this is my own journey, one drenched with pain, one that won’t be easy to carry out with me. 


But these words are for you, to remind you that you never suffer alone, and that there is always beauty on the other side of the battlefield.

Purchase:
Promise me. 
Promise you. 
- 75%

Look, honestly, most of the time when I read books from Kindle Unlimited, especially poetry collections, I'm not expecting much. But this fucking blew me away. A lot of the early poems really resonated with me, but the ones from the 60% onward mark had me feeling it deep in my gut. It felt as though Cristina Filomena took all my deepest thoughts and fears and put them into poems. I absolutely adored this one (and Cristina is Canadian so that makes all of this 100% better).

This poetry collection looks at grief and how people deal with losing something they love. But it's so much more than that. It challenges how we introspectively deal with the types of heartbreak that we deal with on a day-to-day basis. I was absolutely gut wretched reading this one because it hit home for me and made me feel things I tried to keep hidden for a long period of time. Those feelings came right back up like feeling vomit and I couldn't thank Cristina enough for her words and how they resonated with me. I'm actually considering getting one of her poems as a tattoo because they are fantastic.


If you aren't a fan of modern poetry, I think this is still a collection that you would enjoy. It takes the style of modern poetry but puts the feelings of classic poetry into it. I definitely cannot recommend this one enough. It is just so amazing.

THE WITCH DOESN'T BURN IN THIS ONE

Author: Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women Are Some Kind of Magic #2
Source: Purchased from Chapters
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication Date: March 6, 2081
Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary:
2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn't burn in this one — the bold second book in her "women are some kind of magic" series. 

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.
Purchase:
queensdo not needto curtsy beforeanyone. 
queensdo not needdelicate kisses onthe back of their hands. 
queensdo not needto apologize beforemaking demands. 
queensdo not needto ask for anyone'sapproval 
&in this castlemade of witch-firewe are allmotherfuckingqueens. 
- & they drank wine & laughed forever & ever 
page 180
I am so glad I purchased this one and I'm definitely going to pick up The Princess Saves Herself in this One next time I head to Chapters. This had a great message and flow to it but I felt like it got a little broken up at the end in the last section that pulled me out of the "poetry" and it didn't read as smoothly as the rest of the book. However, I would definitely recommend this one. I think it is really empowering and I am probably going to get the poem I included in my review tattooed onto my ribcage because yes. I can't wait to read the rest of the Women Are Some Kind Of Magic poetry collections that Amanda Lovelace produces.

THIS BOY IS A RAINBOW: THE STORM

Author: Sam Payne
Series: N/A
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Publication Date: October 12, 2017
Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary:
It all began with the storm…

i watched you
pull our fading sun
down from the sky
and carry it away
over the horizon
as it was replaced
with a storm

Sam Payne’s debut poetry collection, this boy is a rainbow, tells a raw and touching story of gay love, heartbreak, healing, and empowerment. It is the story of boy who lost love and thought he would never be whole again. Divided into three chapters, it follows his journey as he endures the storm, finds the sun, and becomes the rainbow.

This is the first part of the collection—the storm—a preview of the full edition, which will feature over 200 new poems and illustrations.

For fans of Rupi Kaur, Amanda Lovelace and Savannah Brown, comes an original collection about love, sexuality, grief, doubt, depression, survival, healing, self-love and empowerment.

You’ll love Sam Payne’s tender love and heartbreak poems. Start reading this bold debut before anyone else does.
Purchase:
Wow a lot of these poems really hit home for me. I felt like my heart was ripped from my chest and exposed to the world with all of these. I definitely recommend this if you are looking for a good LGBTQ+ poetry collection!

BURN THE FAIRY TALES

Author: Adeline Whitmore
Series: N/A
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Publisher: Createspace
Publication Date: July 29, 2017
Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Summary:
Kill the prince. Give the princess a sword. Send her into battle. Watch her win. This poetry book is a work of feminist self-empowerment for women and of understanding for men. It deals with love, loss, self discovery, self love, grief, and inspiration.
Purchase:
I thought this was good but it wasn’t great? There were some good thoughts in this but it didn’t feel like poetry. It felt like motivational posters in a poetry layout and I would have liked a bit more to it than that. I think it had some good thoughts but nothing that really made me want to read more by the author. I had a hard time with how the author discussed men and the idea that certain women were better than others. And the description of feminism was ... lacking to say the least.

What are some of your favourite poetry collections?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting! I cherish each and every comment. If you leave me a link to your blog, I will do my best to comment back!