28.3.18

#Discussion: Top 5 YA Couples of All Time

Hello everyone! I know I typically don't do actual love discussions but I love love so here are my favourite YA Couples of All Time.

Miel and Sam from

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS

Author: Anna-Marie McLemore
Series: N/A
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: October 4, 2016
My Review!

Summary:
When the Moon Was Ours follows two characters through a story that has multicultural elements and magical realism, but also has central LGBT themes—a transgender boy, the best friend he’s falling in love with, and both of them deciding how they want to define themselves.

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town.

But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.
Purchase:

Miel and Sam have such an amazing relationship and it made me crave intimacy and warmth from someone who cherishes me as a person, a friend, and as someone they want to spend the rest of their life with.

Maria and Lily from

AS I DESCENDED

Author: Robin Talley
Series: N/A
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 6, 2016
My Review!

Summary:
“Something wicked this way comes.”

Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their school’s ultimate power couple—even if no one knows it but them.

Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey.

Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy, and the presumptive winner of the distinguished Cawdor Kingsley Prize. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s whole world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word.

But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything—absolutely anything—to make their dreams come true. And the first step is unseating Delilah for the Kingsley Prize. The full scholarship, awarded to Maria, will lock in her attendance at Stanford―and four more years in a shared dorm room with Lily.

Maria and Lily will stop at nothing to ensure their victory—including harnessing the dark power long rumored to be present on the former plantation that houses their school.

But when feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.
Purchase:

Looking for a f/f power couple? Maria and Lily are just the pair for you. I love going into books with an established relationship and these two have such a strong connection. The best part is that this is a retelling of Macbeth which is ah-mazing! There are so many great aspects to this book.

Ersel and Ragna from

THE SEAFARER'S KISS

Author: Julia Ember
Series: The Seafarer's Kiss
Publisher: Interlude Press
Publication Date: May 4, 2017
My Review!

Summary:
Having long-wondered what lives beyond the ice shelf, nineteen-year-old mermaid Ersel learns of the life she wants when she rescues and befriends Ragna, a shield-maiden stranded on the mermen’s glacier. But when Ersel’s childhood friend and suitor catches them together, he gives Ersel a choice: say goodbye to Ragna or face justice at the hands of the glacier’s brutal king.

Determined to forge a different fate, Ersel seeks help from Loki. But such deals are never as one expects, and the outcome sees her exiled from the only home and protection she’s known. To save herself from perishing in the barren, underwater wasteland and be reunited with the human she’s come to love, Ersel must try to outsmart the God of Lies.
Purchase:

Ersel and Ragna are a great couple. Ersel wasn't a carbon copy of Ariel from either the original text or the Disney franchise, but her own person that made choices and decisions that you could see yourself also doing. I absolutely adored Ragna and thought she was a great balance for Ersel. 

Lucille and Digby from

THIS RAGING LIGHT

Author: Estelle Laure
Series: This Raging Light #1
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 22, 2015

Summary:
For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love. 

Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to “take a break”…from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren.  Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, “Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart.”

Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she’s about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend’s brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure’s soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page.
Purchase:

Lucille and Digby are both extremely selfish but only because they want each other so much. And how can I be against that? Because I love how badly they want to be together and I just can't even when I think about them together.

Gauri and Vikram from

A CROWN OF WISHES

Author: Roshani Chokshi
Series: The Star-Touched Queen #2
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: March 28, 2017

Summary:
An ancient mystery. An unlikely union. For one young princess in a state of peril, a dangerous wish could be the only answer…

She is the princess of Bharata—captured by her kingdom’s enemies, a prisoner of war. Now that she faces a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. But should she trust Vikram, the notoriously cunning prince of a neighboring land? He promises her freedom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together they can team up and win the Tournament of Wishes, a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. It seems like a foolproof plan—until Gauri and Vikram arrive at the tournament and find that danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans, mischievous story birds, a feast of fears, and twisted fairy revels. New trials will test their devotion, strength, and wits. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.
Purchase:

I loved the characters, Gauri and Vikram. I thought each of them was well defined, had good motivations, and were easy to relate to because they were fighting for freedom for themselves and others. They were the perfect combination of badass and lovely and I want to squish them together all the time.

Who are your favourite couples?

1 comment:

  1. I really need to read The Star Touched Queen!

    Hmm, fave YA couples. That's hard! I have a special place in my heart for Lena and Ethan from Beautiful Creatures. Same with Adrian and Sydney from Bloodlines.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for commenting! I cherish each and every comment. If you leave me a link to your blog, I will do my best to comment back!